Winnipeg ICE announce leadership group for 2019-2020 season

Winnipeg, MB – The Winnipeg ICE Hockey Club announced on Wednesday the leadership group for the 2019-2020 season.

Joining Captain Peyton Krebs will be 2002-born forward Connor McClennon, 2001-born forward Jakin Smallwood and 1999-born defenceman Chase Hartje, all of whom will be assistant captains this season.

Peyton Krebs, from Okotoks, Alberta, was named the team’s 23rd captain in franchise history in December 2018. Krebs is a first round draft pick of the NHL’s Vegas Golden Knights, and was a first overall pick of the ICE in 2016.

The ICE selected Connor McClennon second overall in the 2017 WHL Bantam Draft. The Wainwright, Alberta native played his rookie season during the 2018-2019 campaign, and was a member of Team Canada at the 2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup.

Jakin Smallwood was acquired by the ICE during the 2017-2018 season. The Leduc, Alberta native enters his second season in the WHL.

Chase Hartje was acquired by the ICE in early January 2019. The Bemidji, Minnesota native is entering his third season in the WHL.


Winnipeg ICE mini packs are now available for purchase. They include Saturday Night’s Alright, Family Fun Pack and Let It Go. Purchase your mini pack NOW by visiting or clicking the link provided >> CLICK HERE

More News
HOME OPENER | October 2nd Vs Brandon
4 days ago
WHL concludes 2021 Annual General Meeting
5 days ago
Winnipeg ICE to be the 21st WHL team to select in the 2021 CHL Import Draft
1 week ago
ICE captain Krebs wins Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as 2020-21 WHL Player of the Year
1 week ago
ICE captain Krebs wins Bob Clarke Trophy as 2020-21 WHL Top Scorer
2 weeks ago
Winnipeg ICE to select third overall in 2021 WHL U.S. Priority Draft
2 weeks ago